.

So what do you think - Is There Hypocrisy in Verbal Intimidation?

Rush Limbaugh set off a controversy recently over his remarks about Georgetown Student Sandra Fluke. Now people are drawing parallels to Bill Maher's remarks about Sarah Palin and her daughter. What do you think?

On Sunday, The Washington Post asked if conservative radio talk show host Rush Limbaugh has had his "Imus moment." The backlash continues to grow against Limbaugh in the wake of his verbal attack on Georgetown student Sandra Fluke, who spoke at a Democratic panel in support of insurance coverage for birth-control costs.

But others are now drawing parallels to comments made by comedian Bill Maher about Sarah Palin and her daughters. Even well-known Democratic commentator Kirsten Powers said there is a double standard. While some on the left pushed for a boycott of advertisers that don't drop Limbaugh's radio talk show, others on the right are now calling for President Barack Obama to return or refuse any money obtained by fundraisers headlined by Maher. 

President Barack Obama threw himself in the mix by calling Fluke personally. Limbaugh has apologized and others are now calling for Maher to apologize. While he hasn't done so, he has come out in defense of Limbaugh, saying this is a free speech issue. People are also saying Obama should call Palin as he did Fluke - she too has been a victim of verbal intimidation.

What do you think? Is this a double standard? Should Limbaugh be fired or his advertisers boycotted? On the other hand, should the president give back any money raised with the help of Bill Maher?

Sharon Swanepoel March 09, 2012 at 06:44 PM
As a woman I'm offended by both of them, what can I say. There are woman, and men, whose actions may warrant being called derogatory names. I just find it offensive when people are given such branding simply for having a difference of opinion - which it is in both these cases. To me it really is verbal intimidation. I remember former Loganville mayor Tim Barron saying, "We can disagree without being disagreeable." Maybe someone should tell that to these two men.
Grant March 09, 2012 at 07:01 PM
Disagreeing without being disagreeable doesnt sell advertising time Sharon .. Not questioning your right to be offended just noting that being offensive was indeed the original intent
Sharon Swanepoel March 09, 2012 at 08:24 PM
Thank you Grant - I'm all about rights and that "right to be offended" is one I might even take to the streets for. :)
Grant March 09, 2012 at 08:38 PM
Cool ...dunno that your right to be offended outweighs their right to be offensive but by all means let em have it.. Meanwhile which party do we direct our anger at when Betty White is offensive?
Don Deisher March 09, 2012 at 10:37 PM
I think Bill Mahrs comments are far worse than Rush and Mahr does it all the time but he hides behind oh it's commedy which is bull crap. I don't know how he still has a tv show the only reason maher can attract women is Money it's not his looks. The comments he made about Sarah Palin were far worse than anything Rush might say besides the girl said she has sex 3 times a day so what does she think most people will say about her aftermaking a comment like that much less going to Georgetown and asking for money for sex give me a break
Gail Lane March 09, 2012 at 10:45 PM
Wow, Don. Give you a break? Clearly you have succombed to seeing this only when "your" girl is insulted and don't recognize it as a insult when it happens to a woman you don't agree with. I say you are viewing this through party-lines and not out of respect for or through the eyes of a woman.
Karsten Torch March 10, 2012 at 02:23 PM
Here's the thing. We have no right to not be insulted. I shouldn't have to spend all my time trying to be politically correct. When some lady goes in front of cameras and basically America and says that contraceptives are costing her and her friends $1000 a year, and that she wants me to pay for them, there's not a whole lot of other things we're left to think. Rush just said it. Good for him. While I'm not saying he should have, it is his right to. And if we was going to apologize, it should have gone something like "I'm sorry you came off as a slut and borderline prostitute. I really wish you would have phrased yourself differently." Again, Rush has the right to say what he said, I just think he probably shouldn't. And I LOVE the hypocrisy of the same people that denigrate Rush and give Maher a pass. I have heard nobody from the left trash Maher. Again, Maher's right to say it. Doesn't make him any less of an ass to do so. "She f^%$^ed Levi until a baby fell out." And this was one of the less offensive. But, the Obama campaign sure will defend him and take his million dollars, won't they? Sorry, but neither one really bothers me too much. Just the hooplah that is brought up about it. People can say pretty much whatever they want.
Gail Lane March 10, 2012 at 03:20 PM
Is it only men that see this through a party-line lens?
Kathy March 10, 2012 at 09:43 PM
Had it been a man stating he had sex 3 times a day there would be all sorts of high fives, back slapping and sly smiles from folks but since it is a woman she's a slut. There's your double standard. It is apparent political affiliation doesn't actually matter, Maher (left) and Limbaugh (right) are simply stating out loud how society views women. The posts by Don and Karsten help prove that point.
Tammy Osier March 11, 2012 at 12:39 AM
I think people are missing the whole point. The point is that Limbaugh gets called out and Maher and many others have said far worse and the world didn't stop spinning and the president didn't call someone to apologize for a talk show host. That is the point. I think it's more political than anything. Grant will call me out stating that the media isn't biases, but I still differ. It picks and chooses what it will make a deal out of and what it won't based on political winds. My humble opinion.
Tammy Osier March 11, 2012 at 12:42 AM
No Gail, it isn't. I actually agree somewhat with Grant and KT on this one (well, maybe the world will stop spinning for a second-lol). The point to me is giving this woman such a high pedestal when $1000 a year, really? You can get it very cheaply these day. Her numbers were way off and she was given a pass. It IS political to me.
Richard Stephens March 11, 2012 at 03:10 AM
This is the way I was raised, You call any woman in my family a slutt, or if you make fun of a family member with a serious medical condtion you and me will be speaking to each other very soon. Both Mayar and lembaugh should be removed frome the air untill they face these families face to face and apologize. That is if they have the guts to do the right thing, but I` m sure they would prefer to hied behind a microphone or a camera and be so called entertainers. In my eyes both of these MEN? are absolutely dispicable.
Grant March 12, 2012 at 12:32 PM
Tammy ... Yup I'm calling you out on your media crap again . Maher recieved similar backlash when he called that Palin nasty names...just like Rush. Of course there are HUGE differences (that you'll negelect) Palin being a public figure as opposed to a semi activist college kid being the most obvious one.The other being Rush's statements were broadly directed at all women who use birth control... It's a shame his mother didnt .. Furthermore , in typical fashion , you've missed the entire debate. No one is asking YOU to pay for anything , simply mandating that INSURANCE COMPANIES cover meds for women . Birth control is a whole lot cheaper than babies .
Karsten Torch March 12, 2012 at 01:33 PM
Grant, sorry, but I'm calling BS on this one, too. Maher didn't get called out. There were some people that complained about him, but honestly it was Palin, so he got a pass. As if it being her he was being insulting to makes it OK. AND, like I pointed out earlier, he's donating $1 million dollars to Obama's campaign. So again, I guess that makes it allright, too. You just keep ignoring the double standards with respect to Rush vs. any left-wing personality, I'll just keep seeing the truth. And you just don't seem to understand the way insurance works (or business, for that matter). Of course we're being expected to pay for it. If it's decreed that the insurance companies have to cover it, who do you think pays for it? Insurance companies don't just creat money. They get it first from their customers, to then distribute as necessary. Much like government. Government creates no wealth it doesn't first take from others. So your argument is just plain wrong. We are being expected to pay for it. And the argument about birth control being cheaper than babies really doesn't go all that far with me, either. How about some personal responsibility and teaching people that having children as teens or as a single mom is wrong?
Grant March 12, 2012 at 01:44 PM
Really Karsten? Let me google that for you ..(you should do it too) Wow... over a MILLION hits.. LOTS and LOTS of media OUTRAGE !!! Just because you dont remember it , doesnt man it didnt happen . I'm quite certain I understand how insurance works too . Covering birth control at 100% for for 50 women for a year costs less than a single normal hospital birth . Math is hard isnt it?
Tammy Osier March 12, 2012 at 08:51 PM
Let's stay with the original subject and not get off on rabbit trails Grant. You sometimes like to run down those hoping we'll forget (the cost of having a baby...really?). Let's see...Gloria Allred is now suing Rush for defamation, the President called the "poor" girl, and here we are 3 weeks later, still talking about it, for starters. Palin was a VP candidate and do you think that it would have made a difference had she become VP? You'd think so, but the left has an ax to grind and person to destroy and wala - the media ate it up and kept it going. Conservative stations comdemn liberals. Other stations make a mention and maybe even make a good attempt at it, but not like the left does the right. Pure and simple. Whether it's nice to call names or not (talk guys ratings depend on it) is not the issue. The issue is whether it becomes a national disaster or not. You'd think this was; far from it.
Tammy Osier March 12, 2012 at 08:57 PM
Another thing, which actually proves th4e point. Someone talks to Congress about a concern. Congress either acts on it one way or the other. Instead, it becomes a media circus that amounts to a smear campaign that tries to ruin a man's career (boycott advertisers) as if her testimony is going to cause Congress (that should be made up of grown-ups that can make decisions for themselves) to hinge on what they say. Obviously the public thinks so or we wouldn't tune in week after week. This shouldn't even be a story.
Gail Lane March 12, 2012 at 09:22 PM
Wow, Tammy. Again, I truly believe you are seeing this through party affiliation filtered lenses! I don't care who did what to who and when - it is ALL unacceptable. Anytime a person puts theirself into the public eye - whether as a singer, political candidate, or even stepping in front of a Congressional assembly, I suppose they put their private lives in a spotlight for fodder. When I was a teenager and was caught in some indiscretion by my mom or dad, my brother and sister and I were bad to "narc" on the other when confronted in order to take the unwanted attention away from our own bad deeds. This is the same thing - cast aspersions elsewhere? Doesn't make what YOU did any "more right" ... What Limbaugh did was just wrong. Over the top. Uncalled for. What Mahr did was wrong. Over the top. Uncalled for. All of this is disrepsectful to women. Not just Republican Women and not to Democrat Women. ALL women.
Karsten Torch March 12, 2012 at 09:49 PM
Grant, let's try to focus. Your idea of 'sense of outrage' and mine must be different. I heard Sean Hannity and Rush and Neal talking about Maher, but I don't remember it getting nearly this much attention. And I seriously doubt you remember it all that well, either. And when the President calls this woman to, what, apologize? Hold her hand in sympathy? What was the purpose of his calling her? And he does nothing of the sort for Sarah, I'd call that a tad one-sided. But, I understand that that is disrespectful of the Messiah and of your side, and why you want to ignore that fact. Why does the government feel they have the right to dictate where we MUST spend our money? And when did insurance become a 'pay-all' plan? How about if we decide and buy the plan we think is right for us? And Gail, no, we're not looking at it through party-affiliated lenses. This kind of thing shouldn't really be said by anybody. But sometimes it is. Sometimes it's the truth, sometimes it can be inferred, but whatever. You're right, if it was a guy, nobody would have said anything. But it's Rush's right to say it. It's Maher's right to say it. Doesn't mean I agree with them. But when the media comes down on one side and not the other, and supports one side by taking their donation and never coming out and condemning that one side, then we get to talk about it and make note of how it's being handled differently for each side.
Gail Lane March 12, 2012 at 09:57 PM
Is it the media or is the public that stepping forward? Perhaps we've just heard enough of this kind of rhetoric and there is a certain segment of our population that no longer finds this funny or pertinent. Why on earth muddy the waters of politics with speech of this sort? Got a problem with the message? Fine, say that you are against the birth control. You're absolutely right, though, that Limbaugh and Maher both had the right to say these things. There are consequences however when you open your big mouth with words that are MEANT to be disrespectful. And I'm absolutely horrified that you would conclude that perhaps this woman deserved the treatment? Sort of "if the shoe fits"?? Is that what you're saying? Let's get back on topic in politics - Pundits and spokesmen from both parties need to be focused on the real concerns of our country. Is this woman's sex life really rating up there with jobs? Health care? Budget deficits?
Sharon Swanepoel March 12, 2012 at 10:26 PM
My thoughts, for what they're worth, if government wasn't so up in our personal business much of this wouldn't even be relevant. When I lived at home and my parents took care of me, they had all the control. I think that's why most of us moved out. When government is assigned to take care of too much, it gets the control. And here I'm an equal opportunity opponent. I don't want government having a say in my healthcare any more than I want my soul saved from the floor of congress. Those issues are for my doctor and my pastor - not my congressman. Okay, I'll step down off my soapbox now.
Grant March 13, 2012 at 12:54 PM
I cant believe you ladies are defending Rush Karsten.... I cant be responsible for your memory, google is indeed at your fingertips however and you can be certain the right wing media had a field day with Maher.The public less so , possibly because many people agreeed with Maher's sentiment? In any case a comedian taking potshots at a political candidate is standard operating procedure and has a long tradition in our country (see Johnny Carson for example) Certainly much different than a talk radio mouth calling a college kid (and by extension all women who might use birth control) a slut. You likely wont see it that way and indeed you can believe the 99% of women who have used birth control to be sluts if you like . I would suppose the president called the girl to express his support for her cause and to apologize for the disgusting and appalling behavior of members of Congress and idiots on the radio. Presidents do that sort of thing all the time . Tammy , just WOW... Yeah ... silly me to bring up the cost to the insurance companies regarding childbirth in a discussion about BIRTH CONTROL! Seriously? What could be MORE relevant? Conveniently blaming the media for "everything" is ridiculous. Rush (and Maher) said what they said , in both cases with the intento of getting a reaction . Both are free to puke stupid all they like but there are consequences.
Tammy Osier March 13, 2012 at 02:04 PM
Here's why I'm done with Patch dialogs. Grant- neither I nor KT defended Rush- you said we did. People agreed with Maher? I can't even begin... Again, this was not about any of the issues involved. It was about whether there was hypocrisy. Yes, there is and we stated our cases. Going off onto rabbit trails and attempting to make us look less intelligent as you doesn't cut it, nor does it negate our opinions. I believe there is a double standard and so does she. We stated why. That's it. The issues are for the forums that actually ask for debate on the subject. I've got better things to do.
Grant March 13, 2012 at 02:25 PM
So Tammy, First you blame the spectral media , now you blame me? Cute . You attempted to state your cases and I disputed you statements of opinion with facts and evidence what part of that is chapping your cheese? Fact is there was "outrage" and anger at Maher just like there is at Rush even though the two cases are radically dissimilar . There is no double standard as again there IS a difference in a comedian taking pot shots at a "public figure" and a radio host taking potshots at a college kid . Regardless there is /was outrage in both cases so the point you attempt to make regarding a double standard /hypocrisy fails due to lack of supporting evidence .. Have a nice day
Karsten Torch March 13, 2012 at 02:49 PM
Grant, "possibly because many people agreeed with Maher's sentiment?" Really? And somehow that's OK? But no, I think it's probably because the media didn't focus on it, since it was Palin and she's on the right. Just my thought. And Rush only called her a slut. Or, again, maybe a prostitute, since she wants all her stuff paid for. I mean, come on, $1000 a year? For birth control? That, my friend, is a lot of condoms. Even after you deduct the amount necessary for birth control pills and even a IUD replaced every year. Still wouldn't be that much. I would have called her a liar, not a slut, but with that much paraphernalia, I'm thinking Rush probably wasn't off by much. Just based on her own evidence. But, Grant, you are right about one thing - this is exactly the forum to bring up a discussion about birth control, and whose responsibility it is to pay for it. I'm in the camp where it's everybody's responsibility to pay for their own stuff, and insurance is supposed to pick up when costs get out of hand. We should expect to pay for doctor's visits, drugs, all the basics. The government getting involved and dictating all these extra costs is what keeps driving up the price of insurance. But you keep on supporting adding coverages and costs and then wonder why we keep on paying more.
Grant March 13, 2012 at 03:53 PM
Karsten... The media DID focus on it ...There was all sorts of outrage (have you heard of Google? try it !) . Several of the FoxNews heads were near orgasmal in their condemnation of Maher and their butthurt whining again, your failure to recall the issue does not mean it did not occur.. . But yeah , it is certainly OK to agree with Maher or Rush if one so chooses . There is a difference though. That vapid halfwit Palin is/was a public figure and is therefore "fair game" for Saturday Night Live , Leno , Maher and even Betty White (who called her a crazy b#&$h) Not that any of this matters at all , as I said earlier maher & Rush are paid to generate controversy , despote all the whargarbll Rush is laughing his fat drug addled fanny off at the poostorm he created. Your logic regarding increased insurance costs due to birth control coverage is badly flawed. You're worried about increased insurance costs by adding coverage for the pill? You do understand that babies are more expensive to the insurance companies than the pill is right? You also understand that the pill tends to prevent the occurrence of babies, right? I'll assume you are also aware that Viagra (covered) can also be responsible for the occurrence of babies , where's that outrage?
Sharon Swanepoel March 13, 2012 at 04:06 PM
This is supposed to be "civil" discourse. Just sayin! Couldn't we keep it that way!
Karsten Torch March 13, 2012 at 04:20 PM
Grant, you're killing me here. Is there any chance at all that you can stay focused and stop repeating the same thing every time? I know google exists. There's lots of references to Maher and every other talking head that's said anything stupid. But like you just said, Fox News and the right wing talking heads were upset about Maher. Nothing from the mainstream media. Seriously, if you can't understand this line of reasoning, I'm not sure I can state it any differently. Palin handles herself, she definitely doesn't need you or I to come to her aid. Or Obama. I never complained about Palin, or asked for Ludacriss to be taken off the air when he said McCain should be relegated to a wheelchair for the rest of his life. You guys are the ones that are having the fit about Rush. We're just pointing out the hypocrisy. Which you're confirming with every response. And my logic is only flawed if you're under the mistaken impression that somebody owes you healthcare and that you shouldn't have to pay for anything on your own. In which case, yeah, it would be cheaper to supply birth control. Even though lack of birth control isn't really the main reason for pregnancies, we'll go ahead and assume it is. The argument being put forth is that it's ridiculous to assume that we have the right to never expect to pay for anything again. I mean seriously, where's it going to end?
Karsten Torch March 13, 2012 at 04:24 PM
This is civil. Much more so than these threads usually are. Grant and I are just having fun!
Grant March 13, 2012 at 04:32 PM
Since when is Fox not the "mainstream media"? LOL > Fox and the rightwing talking heads are just the same as CNN and the lefty heads...No double standard, no hypocrisy. I think it's pretty clear that I'm not having a fit, just pointing out the "hypocrisy" claimed by one side or the other is nonsense. Both sides do it and both sides whine about it ..Samey samey I dont expect anyone to pay for my healthcare Karsten . I pay for insurance to cover my family's needs. Again , true fact that birth control costs my insurance company WAY less than the children it might prevent,hence it helps keep my rates low !

Boards

More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something