.

So What Are You Going to Do if Your Guy Doesn't Win?

The debate on which presidential candidate to vote for has been decisive, so what is going to happen Nov. 6 or 7 when some people learn their candidate didn't win?

Come Tuesday at 7 p.m. it is all over bar the shouting. But just how loud is the shouting going to be?

The 2012 election season has been one of the most devisive on record according to most accounts. Even the discussion here on Patch has got heated on many occasions. Those who support President Barack Obama are solid in their support of him. The same goes for those who support the challenger, Mitt Romney. But at least one set of supporters is going to come away disappointed. The big question is, how is the country going to handle it? Usually there are threats by some that they will leave the country if their guy doesn't win. This year, however, there have even been threats of riots.

Will you accept the will of the people, settle down and give the president four more years if that is the outcome - even if you didn't vote for him? If it goes the other way and you didn't vote for Romney, will you accept that the country is not prepared to give Obama another four years and that a new president is about to take the reins?

What are you going to do if your guy doesn't win?

Tammy Osier November 03, 2012 at 02:46 PM
All I can say in answer to the question is that regardless who gets it, I will continue to be mature and work hard. However, I do hope for a mature candidate. The following words should give people an idea as to what type of person they will have running the country. God help us if it's the latter. Romney said that Obama asked voters to vote for revenge, but “I ask the American people to vote for love of country.” Obama actually said, “Voting is the best revenge.” Of course, there's Bill maher...God help us if this is representative of the democratic party... http://newsbusters.org/blogs/noel-sheppard/2012/11/03/maher-if-you-vote-romney-black-people-know-who-you-are-and-will-come
Mary Lou November 03, 2012 at 03:02 PM
@Tammy Osier- yeah I heard that earlier this morning. Wonder if that's why we have four dead Americans? some kind of revenge? didn't HC call our military service members pigs? back when her hubby reigned? birds of a feather typically flock together they say. So couple her and her feelings and reference to our military as "pigs" with the others in that circle that were never proud of their country (2008) and the one that seems to lead this country in and with hatred and divisiveness..watching it play out in real time and zero reaction or effort to save them or help them...makes ya go hmmm...JMHO
Tammy Osier November 03, 2012 at 03:43 PM
ML - makes you wonder...revenge for what??? God, please give us a mature human being for a leader. We need a father figure, not an uncle bringing candy. I don't understand how any self-respecting liberal can defend people like this and not understand that it should be a shame to be associated with those types of people (bill maher, Rosie o' donnell, Michael moore, the race baiters etc...). But you can't expect people who can be suckered in by a smoothe talker to understand, I guess. Sad indeed.
Good Grief Y'all November 03, 2012 at 03:59 PM
Train wreck alert! Don't look! Don't look!
Mary Lou November 03, 2012 at 04:02 PM
@good grief- Thanks for the alert, conductor.
Good Grief Y'all November 03, 2012 at 04:21 PM
@ David, actually it was BUSH. The Lifeline phone program was started for land lines in 1984 (hmm, who was POTUS that year?) so that low income Americans could have emergency access. In 2008 (BUSH), it was expanded to include cell phones since there weren't so many of those in 1984 ;) If Bush and Rs didn't like the program they had 8 long damn years to stop it, not expand it. http://washingtonexaminer.com/obamas-truth-team-denounces-supporters-obama-phone-claim/article/2509305#.UJVAeW_BGSo
Good Grief Y'all November 03, 2012 at 04:24 PM
You're welcome! All aboard!
Good Grief Y'all November 03, 2012 at 05:08 PM
@ David: From the link above: " the government program is called Lifeline, originally created to subsidize land line phone service for low income Americans. The program is funded by government-collected telecommunication fees, paid by consumers. In 2008, the program was expanded to support cell phones which quickly escalated the cost of the program." Notice that: "The program is funded by government-collected telecommunication fees" thingy. You don't think those fees would disappear without the Lifeline program, do you? - that's me being preemptive :) In summary: It was a BUSH expansion program. You're welcome!
Mary Lou November 03, 2012 at 06:02 PM
no thanks for the train wreck ride..already bought our tickets for the more scenic enjoyable ride. Get what ya pay for ;) ride for free and go where your lead or ride in style and go where ya choose/want. On OUR dime of coarse ;) have a good day all!
David November 03, 2012 at 06:12 PM
As long as I get my free phone, I don't care who pays for it. I hope it comes with unlimited texting. My 20 yo sends about 800 a day. I'll give her the free phone so the rich Republicans can pay for her texting.
Chris November 03, 2012 at 06:26 PM
Yea and get those 1% to pay for it
Good Grief Y'all November 03, 2012 at 08:27 PM
Honey, you're on the train wreck ride. Let me clarify for you: my train wreck reference symbolizes a certain poster and followers. In other words, so bad you know you should scroll on past and not look at it, like looking at a train wreck. 'Cause you know if you look you're gonna be sick and you're worried about the victims. You probably knew that, you're just trying to deflect, right? Silly girl.
Good Grief Y'all November 03, 2012 at 08:32 PM
All you RR folks, if they go in, say bye bye to your charity and mortgage interest tax deductions. Well, guess you probably won't miss the charity part. They're gonna get it to help offset cutting the 1%er taxes. Ronnie Iran Contra Raygun took away the non-mtge. loan and credit card interest deductions from the middle class in the '80s. They're just following in Big Daddy's footsteps. Here's a little report on the GOP claim that the 1% are the job creators with a big no-no to asking them to pay a little more: http://www.huffingtonpost.com/2012/11/01/congressional-research-service_n_2059156.html?utm_hp_ref=mostpopular
Tammy Osier November 03, 2012 at 09:04 PM
You know, I'd take some of what you say seriously ggy if you actually had a conversation with us. I have posted questions (you have not answered other than being defensive and then attacking with name calling-Sandy called that one right). I doubt you watched any of the links I provided. In fact, I know you haven't because there is plenty to quote from that you could have given a thoughtful answer to. You, like your candidate, likes to stir the pot, but aren't actually cooking anything in the pot (good metaphor- lol). Scroll through? Yes - anything you post. I like talking to people who have a two way conversation like MaryLou and others. I'm here for that. OK. Start your name calling, it's expected. Not getting personal, just calling you out. You want people to stop that, then maybe listen to constructive criticism and learn from it. There's a difference. Notice I didn't use one ugly or condescending name. Try that.
Mary Lou November 03, 2012 at 11:19 PM
@GGY- charity? at the rate this admin is going, there is not going to be any money to give to charity. Mortgage interest deductions? how many people are in foreclosure or lost their homes to foreclosure? Im sure the hard working will continue to clean up the mess the last 4 has put us in, regardless of who ends up in Washington. Just need to put the brakes on it before it goes completely over the cliff.
Jo Cooper November 03, 2012 at 11:46 PM
Read your Constitution......any function not clearly delegated to the federal government belongs to the states. Our government has overstepped its bounds and must be pared down. Our founding fathers would be in a state of disbelief!
Good Grief Y'all November 04, 2012 at 12:27 AM
Name calling? Not so. I do use some adjectives, but not name-calling. You like to have conversations with people who agree with you, and you don't like it when you're refuted. That's why I'm here. If you're going to dish it out, you need to be able to take it. I trust the links from some on the right, but I choose to ignore yours. You're always demanding that your questions be answered, I'm giving you plenty of answers. You just don't like my answers. I don't like your questions. So, I believe we're even.
Good Grief Y'all November 04, 2012 at 12:31 AM
Oh, Mary Lou. I have done my research. The whole sub-prime mortgage fiasco began under GWB's American Dream Act - creating 100% mortgages. He was videoed with the big announcement. I think it was 2002-2003. More people still own their homes than have lost them to foreclosure. It's scary to think about the deductions being lost to middle class families, isn't it? Being in denial about it won't keep it from happening. Charities will suffer, too, including churches, when the Republicans take away as much as they can from the middle class.
Good Grief Y'all November 04, 2012 at 12:53 AM
Uh oh, forgot something. Hope it's not too late. All the above I just said, well, that's just my opinion.
John B November 04, 2012 at 03:55 AM
Tammy....don't mind GGY...she's still angry that someone dropped a house on her sister....
John B November 04, 2012 at 03:56 AM
BTW...hope it's not too late to say...that's just my opinion....
Long Island Dave November 04, 2012 at 04:04 AM
AND FOR YOUR FREE VIEWING PLEASURE: 2016: Obama's America - Entire Documentary Here http://www.butthurt.co/obama/2016
Good Grief Y'all November 04, 2012 at 12:50 PM
Whoever wins, I'll encourage people to view President Clinton's and President Obama's campaign closing speeches. Definitive and uplifting messages delivered by master orators, the explainer-in-chief and the Commander-in-Chief. Listening should make the losers feel better and the winners feel great.
Jim Aspen November 04, 2012 at 01:16 PM
Bye Bye Mr O.
Sharpie November 05, 2012 at 03:19 PM
"Support for Kill List and NDAA make Obama and Romney Unfit for Office" Read more: http://communities.washingtontimes.com/neighborhood/reawakening-liberty/2012/nov/2/support-kill-list-and-ndaa-make-obama-and-romney-u/ See if there is a clear winner to our Presidential Election 2012. Make a special note to watch the Free and Equal Election Debate between third party Presidential candidates, Gov. Gary Johnson (Libertarian) and Dr. Jill Stein (Green), to be aired tonight on Monday evening, Nov. 5th from 9:00 - 10:30 pm Eastern Time. Perform a worthwhile civic duty, and be certain to listen in on this historic debate so that you can make an informed decision on voting day. Third party candidates who will be on the ballot in most states deserve to be heard. http://freeandequal.org/?v=1
Good Grief Y'all November 09, 2012 at 05:36 PM
@PATCH: why are all these Coach posts being allowed to stand on your Opinion sites? Isn't advertising in these comment threads against the TOU? They are out of place and so annoying. Tell them they should pay for your ads, please!
Crystal Huskey (Editor) November 09, 2012 at 05:54 PM
Trust me, they annoy me more than they annoy you :/ We occasionally get hackers who post dozens of these at once, and I don't always see them. Please flag them if you see one.
Crystal Huskey (Editor) November 09, 2012 at 05:54 PM
We always ban them, but then they just go ahead and create a new email address and do it again! So frustrating.
North Georgia Weather November 09, 2012 at 06:13 PM
I use to have that problem on a web forum... I gave up.
Good Grief Y'all November 12, 2012 at 06:09 PM
Thanks, Crystal. Believe, me I flag every time I see one. I'll just keep doing that.

Boards

More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something
See more »