.

Should the President Consider Another Running Mate for the 2012 Election?

In the light of recent gaffes by current Vice President Joe Biden and sinking popularity numbers, would it be wise for the president to consider another running mate -- possibly Hillary Clinton?

Jay Carney, spokesman for the White House, categorically affirmed this week that Joe Biden would remain as President Barack Obama’s running mate in the 2012 election. Some don’t think that's such a good idea.

An article in The Washington Post makes the case for Obama to consider an alternative vice president. Secretary of State Hillary Clinton’s name is usually the name that comes up when alternatives are suggested. Besides Biden’s gaffes, the most recent being the "back in chains" comment to a black audience, there is also the fact that Biden's popularity rate has been slipping in the polls. According to The Washington Post, almost every recent poll has Biden’s numbers the lowest they’ve ever been with more people giving him unfavorable ratings than favorable. While his favorable ratings were well into the 50s when he and Obama were elected in 2008, recent polls, one NBC/Wall Street Journal and another by Fox News, are significantly down. The polls had his ratings at 35 favorable to 37 percent unfavorable and 41 percent favorable to 44 percent unfavorable respectively.

Although vice presidents are said to not have any real impact on the presidency, there are some calling for a change on the Democratic ticket.

Do you think that the president should consider taking on another running mate before the Democratic Convention next month? And do you think that Hillary Clinton should take the job?

Paul Wallace August 17, 2012 at 12:56 PM
I think Obama should keep Biden and let Hillary run for President later. Biden helps show what a sloppy administration we have in office now. Dumb & Dumber.
Mo August 17, 2012 at 01:56 PM
i think should trade places between Biden and Hillary. She can be great vice President and future President as well. On the other hand let Biden insult the three Knucklehead such as Benjamin Netanyahu, Mahmoud Abbas and Mahmoud Ahmadinejad.
Frank Church August 17, 2012 at 01:57 PM
I think they sould just PACK it up. And make room for the R & R.
Mo August 17, 2012 at 01:58 PM
think Obama should trade places between Biden and Hillary. She can be a great vice President and future President as well. On the other hand let Biden insult the three Knucklehead such as Benjamin Netanyahu, Mahmoud Abbas and Mahmoud Ahmadinejad.
Paul Wallace August 17, 2012 at 02:00 PM
You could say that again. Please Don't!
Removed August 17, 2012 at 03:17 PM
I think Hillary would turn down the offer, I feel she is not really happy with the course of the country per-se and does not want to be more responsible for later faults. She will run next term, look at Reagans age when he ran, so she would be alright in that regard.
MM August 17, 2012 at 04:09 PM
When Biden was running in the Demo primary in '08 a reporter asked him if opponent Obama was qualified to be pres. "Of course not," replied Joe, now the vice plagiarist of the USA. Remember Biden's plagiarism problem in the '88 campaign ? He's now a pathetic tax-feeder for forty plus years, another left-wing hanger-on. Delaware is a hopeless state. Keep him on the ticket for comedy. Both are jokes. And what's so great about Hillary?
meowkats4 August 17, 2012 at 07:04 PM
This just my opinion: Hillary, just looks worn down and tired most of the time. Sometimes I think she has to do what this administration tells her she GOT TO DO! Yet, she feels other wise. She has gained weight/lost weight and gained it back, this happens when you not so happy with things that go on around you. Hillary, remembers what Obama and his team did to her during her campaign, that too weighs heavenly on her mind. I just think Hillary will be active in Politics, for awhile not run for anything too soon.
M.K. OSBORNE August 17, 2012 at 07:13 PM
Joe biden is great for them democraps , His entrance theme should be that song "working on the chain-gang "
Vanessa Dallura-Prater August 18, 2012 at 11:35 AM
Hillary was approached a few weeks ago (based on what I read yesterday...will share the article when I find it) and turned it down. She made it clear that she did not want to be associated (as a VP) with the possible loss of the election. @Meowkats4 you also raise a good point. Hillary has her own ideas ...and she DOES remember what was done to her in 2008.
bobby black August 18, 2012 at 03:10 PM
Maybe they should just flip-flop the ticket. Couldn't be any worse. OK, I'm putting my hard hat on now.
Jeff Banks August 18, 2012 at 03:15 PM
You're going to have a hard time finding a factual article where Hitlary said such a thing while working for Obama.
Vanessa Dallura-Prater August 19, 2012 at 12:53 AM
Found it... http://m.washingtonexaminer.com/hillary-rejected-vp-slot-to-ready-her-own-2016-run/article/2505206/?page=2&referrer=http://t.co/L5dhuxC8
Fred 'n Freeda August 19, 2012 at 02:20 PM
Here's the Romney-Ryan Plan: 1. Tax poor & working people but not the rich; 2. Encourage wages in the U.S. to fall to third world levels; 3. Pass trade laws that make it easy for companies to send jobs overseas; 4. Pass laws that enable only insurance companies to control who gets health care (including seniors) and who doesn't; 5. Replace public education with out of pocket private schools and home schooling; 6. Refuse to invest in crumbling public infrastructure such as highways, bridges, and sewer systems; 7. Environmental Policy: Pass laws and weaken regulations that enable companies to pollute the environment; 8. Pass laws that enable gas and oil production and prices to be controlled by a few large companies; Make sure that there is no longer any research or work on alternative energy sources; Keep defense spending high to protect non domestic oil production; 9. Repress rights for women and minorities and repress voting participation; 10. Divide the American people on cultural issues (religion, sexual orientation, gun rights, etc); 11. Instill fear in the American public through manufactured crises and created "boogeymen". Then attack political opponents by claiming to be more "patriotic" and the better keeper of "American Values" than they. 12. Make it impossible for literally millions of ELIGIBLE voters to cast their ballots, which is flagrant vote tampering and corruption. Can YOU afford to vote for these guys? I can't. I'M A WORKING MOTHER.
Jeff Banks August 19, 2012 at 02:28 PM
What was that? Go ahead Brian. You like to correct the inaccuracies in everyone's post. Step up and tell about this one.
Dr. John August 19, 2012 at 03:47 PM
Hey, What do you know. This is a liberal troll poster. This same comment was posted 18 times in at least 8 states. Please take the Soro's money you are earning to post your robo-comments and buy all of the medication your doctor reccomends. When you skip doses or medications it seems you enter an alternate reality world. Just my advice.
East End Farmer August 19, 2012 at 05:18 PM
Dr John - You say that about everyone you can't make a point against. Why don't you just admit it...it's a great post with great points that everyone should read.
Dr. John August 19, 2012 at 05:42 PM
I don't waste my time responding to made up facts.
People Person August 19, 2012 at 06:24 PM
Dr John - You just throw out baseless charges without specific points. Here's a word you can use in the future: "hooey" or, how about this one: "Boogie-woogie". That's the value of your input; why not cast it at others when you can. In the 50s, people like you would call those with an opposing opinion "mentally disturbed". Trust me when I say that your kind of crap doesn't scare Americans any longer and we treat it as I have done here. BOLDLY.
Pastor Curt August 21, 2012 at 03:54 PM
Freeda, I respect that you are a working mother and clearly you're well informed on the issues. Can you point me to where you read the Romney-Ryan plan you have documented? It appears to me that you are just reproducing Democrat talking points.
Roy McCreary August 23, 2012 at 10:31 PM
Liberals are delussional and naive.
Roy McCreary August 23, 2012 at 10:32 PM
I forgot to mention dimwitted.
Roy McCreary August 23, 2012 at 10:48 PM
All the Demos are dopes.
Roy McCreary August 23, 2012 at 10:50 PM
Those are nothing but lies.

Boards

More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something