.

'Merry Christmas' or 'Happy Holidays' - What's Your Preference?

Do you think there really is a war on Christmas?

Merry Christmas or Happy Holidays?

When it comes to season’s greetings, a new poll shows the majority of Americans prefer “Merry Christmas” to “Happy Holidays.”

The survey from Rasmussen Reports finds that 68 percent of the people polled prefer the traditional “Merry Christmas” while just 23 percent like "Happy Holidays," which can cover a variety of occasions.

When it comes to holiday signs, a whopping 70 percent of shoppers polled said they prefer to be greeted with “Merry Christmas” in stores rather than the more neutral Happy Holidays, according to a Rasmussen Reports national telephone survey.

But it doesn't end there. There have been "Christmas Trees" banned or replaced with "Holiday Trees," nativity scenes scrapped to avoid offending some, and the list goes on. The so-called “War on Christmas” has been a hot topic for years, with some saying such things as “Merry Christmas” and nativity scene exclude non-Christians.

What do you think? Should it be Merry Christmas or Happy Holidays? And do you believe there really is a war on Christmas?


Good Grief Y'all December 02, 2012 at 10:34 PM
No matter how you express the sentiment, the season is about good cheer, kindness and generosity. Say it how you want to and respect others if they say something different.
Kelly Twedell December 02, 2012 at 10:42 PM
It's Christmas. Merry Christmas. Nobody dumbs down Halloween because they don't believe in it. Choose to celebrate or not.
Nancy Love December 02, 2012 at 11:53 PM
MERRY CHRISTMAS TO ALL
Michael k December 03, 2012 at 12:59 AM
who cares?
David Binder December 03, 2012 at 01:03 PM
Michael k it's obvious that you don't, but we do. Merry Christmas
Elizabeth December 03, 2012 at 01:59 PM
Michael k, perhaps you should care. Merry Christmas
GregRodgers December 03, 2012 at 02:18 PM
Merry Christmas!! Leave the political correctness at the door please. Thank you....
Becky December 03, 2012 at 02:24 PM
In a business setting I use Happy Holidays simply because I don't know who religious affiliation all of our clients are. Within the office, it's definitely Merry Christmas because we are all Christians who celebrate Christmas. (and it's NOT Xmas) I have Jewish friends so I wish them a Happy Hannukah and they wish me a Merry Christmas. If I know what you celebrate, I will respond appropriately. If I don't, it's either Happy Holidays or Season's Greetings.
Eric Kimbarl December 03, 2012 at 02:51 PM
It is Christmas, a Christian holiday, non-believers should have no say at all in how it is celebrated, just as how I have no say in how they celebrate what is special for them. Christmas is not about the time of year everyone has big parties and exchanges gifts, if that’s all it is to you find another Holiday not connected with Christianity and celebrate then. Christmas is the time to celebrate the birth of our Lord and Savior Jesus Christ.
Karsten Torch December 03, 2012 at 04:17 PM
I have no problems with anybody greeting me in whatever manner they choose (and it's not always polite - but that's usually for other reasons and other times of year). I'm only bothered when they're offended by "Merry Christmas." I've even heard of people being offended when they sneeze and somebody says "God bless you." Tell me "Happy Kwanzaa" or whatever - don't care. But don't get indignant when I greet you in some way you don't agree with. We have no rights in this country to NOT be offended - you kind of just need to get over it. And regardless of what some choose to believe, there is a war on religion. You see it every day, in Christmas parades being changed to Holiday parades, displays being taken down from public spaces, even art displays at local libraries being dismantled because they dared show Catholic priests or whatever. If you don't like a display at a public location, feel free to add your own pieces to it. Or request that your religion be included. But don't be offended it exists. In this country, we have freedom OF religion, not freedom FROM religion. It's a simple concept....
"E Pluribus Unum" December 03, 2012 at 04:44 PM
I believe many of the "war on religion" tensions are a result of Christian Nationalist chipping away at the separation of church/state in our country. This fringe element is trying to exert more Christian influence in all aspects of society. When both Christians, nonChristians and secularist push back, the Christian zealots scream their religious rights are being taken away. In truth the opposite is occurring. Christian wackos are trying to cram their type of religion down every one else's throat. It really is the classic "rubber and glue" strategy we've recently witness in the presidential election.
Karsten Torch December 03, 2012 at 05:14 PM
See, and this is another one that I believe your view depends on which side of the fence you're on. We've never had these issues with religion before. Or not as prevalent. It's much like the NRAs mode of operation regarding their goals - let's say that 4 year olds should be able to carry guns, so that those that should be able to legally won't be bothered. Christians are seeing this coming from so many sides, plus it seems to always make the news (one of the main sources of our problems, IMO) so Christians are making the push for everything, so the basic rights we enjoy don't get trampled.
"E Pluribus Unum" December 03, 2012 at 06:12 PM
Karsten Torch, yes, POVs look differently depending on which POV one is most comfortable with. I am not sure if I fully understand the point being made with the NRA analogy, but I think you were implying that perspectives are instilled into us by family as small children. I would also add religion . So if I am taught certain values/beliefs by family and religion as a child that favor a POV (like carrying guns in public and owning any type of weapon is my right as an example) than yes, conflict arises as that child grows up and meets others who were differently. But at some point I believe we all have a chance to hear broader perspectives that not only challenges family and religon training but changes POVs. I was raised to treat blacks as lower class people. Once I grew up and had other life experiences and relationships, I learned I was raised with limited knowledge. The same for Christians who they are under attack. Maybe it's just another, broader POV that threatens long time perspectives based on limited knowledge and info. It doesn't make one POV better than the other but only different. I ramble but hopefully you understand my point. Two questions that I believe get to the heart of the matter for folks. - Does someone believe and uphold separation church/state. - Does someone truly believes in religious pluralism.
Karsten Torch December 03, 2012 at 08:57 PM
I get your point, and agree. My point to the NRA comment was that sometimes groups go overboard just to get the basics accomplished. I see this from the POV that I don't get offended when I see other displays. If I see a Hannukah (SP?) display, or a dradle, it doesn't bother me. So I just don't understand why other people care.
"E Pluribus Unum" December 03, 2012 at 10:22 PM
Karsten, thank you for the clarification. I agree that groups often go overboard just to get basics and agendas pushed forward. It's like trying to achieve some long term outcome and doing it incrementally. With that said, I have a personal measure of "reasonableness" on most social, political and religious freedom issues. Here it is....when both extremes (far left and far right) are both PO'd and upset, and the reasonable middle seems satisfied with the proposed solution, than we've arrived at the proper place on the issue.
Ben December 04, 2012 at 01:14 AM
It will always be MERRY CHRISTMAS At My House, My Business & everywhere else
R++ One of the Famous Dacula Crew December 04, 2012 at 03:01 AM
Yes this works JUST FINE!!!
Good Grief Y'all December 04, 2012 at 11:42 AM
Merry Christmas, damn it! :)
Keisha Fox December 07, 2012 at 04:16 PM
I personally prefer saying Happy Holidays because I do not like to assume that the person I am speaking to celebrates Christmas. I am not sure I understand this alleged war on Christmas and why the observers of this holiday are feeling attacked. I do not think that anyone is trying to infringe on your right to celebrete this holiday the way that you choose. Many people are just asking that you remember to consider the fact that there are others that may believe and celebrate differently than you. This season means Yule, Christmas, Hanukkah, Kwanza and other special holidays for people. To millions, this season means celebration of the Christian savior, feasting with family, and the celebration of light. Happy Holidays everyone.
r patton December 07, 2012 at 04:37 PM
Least ye be of careful mind my friends, the Atheists are lurking about to spoil this season for all of us with lawsuits etc.
Good Grief Y'all December 07, 2012 at 07:07 PM
Being militantly arrogant about one's preferred Christmas greeting isn't very Christmassy or Christian.
Jeremiah Chandler December 07, 2012 at 09:53 PM
I agree - the true spirit of Christmas is lost on people who get offended by Happy Holidays, Season's Greetings, or Merry Christmas.
Karsten Torch December 07, 2012 at 10:02 PM
Sure it is. The old saying "Jesus is the reason for the season" is actually accurate. "Happy Holidays" only exists because we are celebrating Christmas. We wouldn't have the level of celebration we have, or possibly any, if it weren't for Christmas. To get indignant for being told "Merry Christmas" is, to me, silly. And again, this is coming from somebody that would take no offense were somebody to greet me with "Happy Channukah" or "Festive Whatever." For whatever reason, to be offended because somebody greeted you with their preferred method of greetings for whatever season is, to me, kinda dumb. It's not a matter of being tolerant of others' wishes when you greet somebody - it's just polite for others to greet you.
Good Grief Y'all December 08, 2012 at 12:17 PM
Huh? "Sure it is." to what? Are you disagreeing with what I said with that, and then go on to agree? Or are you addressing another's comment? I don't think Jesus, being the reason for the season, would like people taking on a negative attitude about any greeting offered kindly and sincerely. Oh, wait, I think I get it. In your opinion, it's right to say Merry Christmas and wrong to get indignant about it, but for all other seasonal greetings it's just the opposite? Actually, this is all pretty silly. Live and let live.
Good Grief Y'all December 08, 2012 at 12:20 PM
Worth my repeating: No matter how you express the sentiment, the season is about good cheer, kindness and generosity. Say it how you want to and respect others if they say something different.
Karsten Torch December 08, 2012 at 01:46 PM
That was my point . I have no problem with people greeting me how they want, but don't correct somebody when they say "Merry Christmas." All I'm saying....
Tammy Osier December 08, 2012 at 02:41 PM
I don't think I've heard anyone on here get indignant about it. They simply expressed their disappointment when others do. Christians want th the right to celebrate without being berated, but if they do, they can be courteous about it, and react in love as with anything else. Gee whiz! It's just a question asked and people should answer with their opinion without challenging others. It's not a debate on amendments or things that are or are not in the Constitution. Just a question. That's all.
Good Grief Y'all December 08, 2012 at 09:12 PM
Good to know.
Good Grief Y'all December 08, 2012 at 09:41 PM
Ummm . . . shouty all caps followed by lots of !!!! looks like indignant to me, but that was Karsten's word, I just repeated it in my comment to him . . . to him. And this one, "Nobody dumbs down Halloween because they don't believe in it. Choose to celebrate or not." And re-read Eric's post. Christians should be inclusive and tolerant. The fact is the Christmas season coincides with other holidays. I think some Christians forget, maybe ignore, that. Some families consist of Christians and Jews, or Muslims, Hindu, Buddhist, or atheists, agnostics. Christ, the Prince of Peace.
Kelly December 17, 2012 at 12:31 AM
I am not Christian, but prefer 'Merry Christmas' instead of 'Happy Holidays', a Christmas Tree called what it is, and everyone able to openly and respectfully practice their own religious holidays. THAT is America imho, and an America I am proud to live in. Diversity should not mean blurring a religion or religious practice, and should also not force one religion's practice on everyone in publicly funded places (schools, courts, etc). Personally, calling a Christmas Tree a 'holiday tree' is so frustrating - Jews don't have a 'Chanukah tree'! This week employees were singing 'holiday music' in my office cafeteria - but the songs were all 'oh christmas tree' etc - call it what it is! I prefer that people quit acting like saying 'holiday' is inclusive of all religions (since only 2 religions actually have holidays this time of year, OK 3 with pagens) unless in August you are going to say 'Happy Holidays' to the Muslims, or basically every month except Nov & Dec & Jan saying 'Happy Holidays' to the hindus and have office 'holiday parties' in other months too. Having a 'holiday party' in Dec and thinking it is all-inclusive is about as absurd as having a 'holiday party' in Aug only and thinking that is inclusive. Calling it a 'holiday party' or wishing 'happy holidays' can be construed as saying these are the only holidays that exist, minimizing the recognition of religions that don't celebrate holidays at this time of the year. So.....Merry Christmas & Happy Chanukah!

Boards

More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something