.

Is it Wise to Release Movies on the Killing of Osama Bin Laden at this Time?

Some believe it is a partisan attempt to re-elect President Barack Obama and others are concerned about sparking more violence in the Middle East.

According to The Associated Press, a film dramatizing the killing of Osama Bin Laden will debut on the National Geographic Channel just two days before the presidential election. “Seal Team Six: The Raid on Osama bin Laden” will air on Nov. 4. But there have been questions raised about whether the timing of this is specifically to aid the president in his re-election bid since it was produced by a big fundraiser for the president’s campaign. The killing of Osama Bin Laden has been touted by President Barack Obama’s supporters as one of the major successes of his presidency.

National Geographic has denied any political allegiance and claims  one of the reasons for this particular date was a desire to get ahead of a competitive movie about the raid to be released at the end of the year, “The Heat Locker.”

There are others, however, who have their concerns about potential violence if either of these movies are released. During the , a YouTube movie reportedly insulting the Prophet Mohammad has been blamed for sparking the violence. However, rioters have been seen chanting “Obama this is for Osama” during some of the riots.

In the light of these recent events, do you think it is wise to release either of these movies at this time? Or do you believe, that like the YouTube video, supressing them would be a violation of freedom of speech?

Mary Milam Brannon October 07, 2012 at 06:08 PM
http://abcnews.go.com/m/blogEntry?id=17403013
Mary Milam Brannon October 07, 2012 at 06:14 PM
You can take my statement apart and spin it however you want.. If you read it as a whole it makes sense... Now we can keep playing this game and wasting each others time or you can accept it as it was written and understand it like everyone else seems to...
Global Warming October 07, 2012 at 06:16 PM
You said "It's been made very clear that Ambassador Stevens asked for additional security 2 days before his brutal assassination and he got nothing". Where is proof of that part?
Global Warming October 07, 2012 at 06:26 PM
You mean "accept it as it was written" as in BS? That's exactly how I accept it and that's exactly what it is. You said "our rights and our constitution are gone forever" and that BS. You choose to spew your imagination on the public. I "understand it".
Mary Milam Brannon October 07, 2012 at 06:36 PM
I said our rights and constitution are gone forever IF we allow them to dictate what we do here out of fear of what they might do there..... It's simple ... I'm not playing your game anymore... Typical liberal spinning is a waste of my time...
Global Warming October 07, 2012 at 07:15 PM
WRONG! Feel free to scroll up since you apparently forgot what you wrote. What you wrote while not having any rights and with our constitution gone forever. Are feeling okay?
Mary Milam Brannon October 07, 2012 at 07:26 PM
OK lets read this all together without taking a breath....."If that's the case they have already won! They have already dictated to us how we will live under fear of them.. .. And our rights and our constitution are gone forever"... The word AND implies that the second part is included in the first part... Got it Skippy?
Global Warming October 07, 2012 at 07:42 PM
Ooooh! So the whole paragraph is all just one long sentence and you didn't actually mean what you said?
R++ One of the Famous Dacula Crew October 07, 2012 at 07:45 PM
That's ALPHA...
R++ One of the Famous Dacula Crew October 07, 2012 at 07:47 PM
Yum... Peanut butter.
Tammy Osier October 07, 2012 at 07:47 PM
GW - There's nothing worse on a forum that grammar po-lice. Calm down. She wrote it wrong, but being experienced in this, I knew what she meant. I haven't seen her on here befoe so figure she's inexperienced in the difference between what's written (and how to communicate it) nad what's said face to face. She might have spoken that way face to face (where we are experts at correcting ourselves). Give her time. She'll figure it out - like you and I probably had to do as well. I think you're both on the same page message wise though...uh....Skippy...lolol Her link didn't work. Here's one from ABC of all networks. http://abcnews.go.com/blogs/politics/2012/10/email-shows-state-department-rejecting-request-of-security-team-at-us-embassy-in-libya/ Another one, this from PBS http://www.pbs.org/newshour/bb/world/july-dec12/libya1_10-02.html I hope Romney pulls a full scale investigation and charges are brought. In the military, you would go before a tribunal for derelection of duty. So, is there any reason why the one at the top cannot see the same treatment?
Global Warming October 07, 2012 at 07:54 PM
"Ambassador Stevens asked for additional security 2 days before his brutal assassination" Where is this proof? If it isn't fact, why would anyone make such an arrogant claim?
Tammy Osier October 07, 2012 at 08:45 PM
http://worldnews.nbcnews.com/_news/2012/10/03/14204567-sensitive-documents-left-behind-at-us-consulate-in-benghazi-libya?lite Here ya go. In this also is an interesting peice from a Libyan official stating that documents left behind after the attack show that the movie had nothing to do with the attack. Sec. Clinton says they are investigating for a full disclosure.
Dave Emanuel October 07, 2012 at 11:00 PM
Rather than attacking each other and arguing over grammar, opinions, reports and investigations, we should concentrate on the facts. Our embassy was attacked, an ambassador and three other Americans were killed, and at least a portion of the world Islamic community is celebrating. That doesn't mean the entire Islamic world wants to kill Americans, but it should be obvious that several subsections of it do. Whether Obama, Clinton, or the State Department bungled security is another matter altogether. But the facts in this case are indisputable-- four Americans were killed by a mob of Muslims. Whether it was because of a film, or another reason entirely is, in my opinion, irrelevant. A segment of the Islamic population obviously sees nothing wrong with killing innocent Americans in retaliation for what other people did or said. If we cower in response to that, and curb our tongues and pens in fear of the consequences, we have in fact lost some of our Constitutional rights- not because they were taken, but because we surrendered them..
Gail Lane October 07, 2012 at 11:18 PM
Soooo ..... Is it wise to release the movie?
mike duda October 08, 2012 at 03:56 AM
Yeah, release for heaven's sake. "Stop the insanity."
Racer X October 08, 2012 at 12:04 PM
Tammy- Thanks for shutting up GW.
Tammy Osier October 08, 2012 at 12:41 PM
@ Mike lolol. I think, after a full investigation, it would make a great documentary. Here's a thought...imagine the classified information that was found in that bunker. Our military has been working on this, waiting for the right time for 11 years. had they gone in and confiscated it, they might have been able to take out multiple high operatives. But no...got to go straight to the media. Many of my family members were a part of this whole operation from hussein to osama. Really proud that they could serve as a part of keeping out country safe where it counts.
John B October 08, 2012 at 12:47 PM
That's hard to do from the fetal position Mike. It's my understanding Hillary actually pulled the trigger.
Ron Smith October 08, 2012 at 08:56 PM
we need better controls on who is admitted into the US. Plain and simple.If you have a known terrorist background or ties to an organization that promotes terrorist activities then then should be turn away.. I like the approach of Australia either learn our language and not practice Sharia Law in their country. Obama is paving the way for it to flourish in the US. He may say that he is a Christian but he was raised in the Muslim Faith and his grandparents were followers of the Communist Doctrine. What else do we need to see what is happening here, 200 years of fighting for our way of life and it could all be compromised in the next four years, just like what has happened in the past with this president.. and I am a Democrat....
Danchi October 11, 2012 at 01:42 AM
Show the movie. It will balance out that garbage that Dinesh D'Souza had in the theaters. As for the lack of security on foreign soil,the group you need to thank is the republican party of NO! They are the ones who voted down additional funds for security. . Republicans blocked bill for embassy security, but now blame Obama for killings in Benghazi? http://www.allvoices.com/contributed-news/13160257-republicans-blocked-bill-for-embassy-security-then-blames-obama-for-killings-in-benghazi GOP Rep: I ‘Absolutely’ Voted To Cut Funding For Embassy Security http://thinkprogress.org/security/2012/10/10/985191/chaffetz-absolutely-funding-embassy-security/
Clayton October 27, 2012 at 12:12 AM
If this is what Obama is stooping to, in order to get re-elected, there is seriously something wrong with him and his so-called political experience. Remember, the hunt for Bin Laden began in 2001, long before Obama was a president-elect. Surely, a man with his education could come up with something better than this to swing votes!!! I vote for me, do niot vote and impeach Obama on december 1 for being a moron!!!
dks November 29, 2012 at 05:41 PM
It was all about getting Obama re-elected. Nothing more.
Jegajothy November 29, 2012 at 06:15 PM
Well said and put. That's the way to go! We need to take a few lessons from Israel, where if the terrorists kill any of their citizens, they will be hunted down like dogs wherever they are until they all have been killed. Remember Munich Olympics. We need to show to the world, if any of these terrorists kill innocent men, women and children, then they have just opened the doors to be hunted down and killed wherever they are, even hiding under women's skirts. Take another lesson of how Australia handles these terrorists. Maybe one should read the speech made by a Minister I think in Parliament. Now we know which country wears pants!
Jegajothy November 29, 2012 at 06:53 PM
What is wrong in killing 2 birds with one stone, killing Obama and getting relected at the same time. It is easy for everyone to talk against this issue, but wait until one of your cherished ones was killed on that fatal day for no reason, then maybe your tune would be different - kill, kill, kill. Even though none of my loved ones either near or far were killed, but when I think of those crying voices, I need these terrorist's blood as balm to calm me down.
Billy Pennington November 30, 2012 at 06:08 AM
My dear Mary, my wife of 40 years is the light of my life but you dear are a shining star! Please remember though that trying to convince a Liberal what is right is like trying to pick up a dog dropping on the clean side : )
Billy Pennington November 30, 2012 at 06:20 AM
It appears that Global Warming did NOT look at your link of the State Department denying security. Liberals like someone else to do the work for them. It is apparent that Global Warming has NO clean side : )
Racer X November 30, 2012 at 01:32 PM
You go Mary! :-)
Mary Milam Brannon November 02, 2013 at 12:58 PM
Wow nearly a year has gone by and look at the mess this administration has gotten us into. Global? How in the world do you spin it these days? Obama did this to himself!! IRS F&F NSA Jobs Syria Debt Egypt Benghazi Economy Shutdown Obamacare
Tammy Osier November 02, 2013 at 08:46 PM
@ bill Pennington - LOLOLOL Love it! And so apt! +======================"Please remember though that trying to convince a Liberal what is right is like trying to pick up a dog dropping on the clean side : )'

Boards

More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something