.

Ben Carson for President ... or Disrespectful to the President?

One headline comes from the Wall Street Journal, the other from a panel discussion on CNN. What do you think — amazing speech or politically incorrect?

The big buzz that came out of the National Prayer Breakfast last week was not what you might expect, unless you were expecting a potential 2016 presidential nominee to emerge. That appears to be what happened, according to the Wall Street Journal in an article titled "Carson for President." However, not everybody feels that way about the guest speaker, Dr. Benjamin Carson.

According to his bio, Carson raised himself up from being a troubled youth to becoming the director of Pediatric Neurosurgery at Johns Hopkins Hospital at age 33. And while he has an amazing life story, it was his criticism of the president’s policies that has caused such a buzz.

While many on the right are hailing him as the potential savior of the GOP, others are criticizing his speech, saying his criticism of the president’s policies when he was less than 5 feet from him were inappropriate and disrespectful. While the division is almost down party lines, there are some on the right who do agree the National Prayer Breakfast is supposed to be a time of unity, not a time for politics. The issue has been debated by many, including a panel on CNN and The Five on Fox News.

Republicans who see Carson as a presidential hopeful, however, may not be happy to hear his party affiliation — he has none. When interviewed over the weekend, Carson said he is probably an Independent, but if there were such a thing as the Party of Logic, he would be a member.

What do you think? Was the National Prayer Breakfast the right venue for Carson’s comments? And secondly, could someone like this come out of nowhere and even stand a chance in a 2016 presidential run?

Thomas Yassu February 19, 2013 at 04:36 PM
You are right, Tammy.
r patton February 19, 2013 at 05:24 PM
Ahhhhh .................. good old Good Grief Y'all carries King obama's ideas again.
Michel February 19, 2013 at 07:23 PM
Mr smith I see my final posts were rejected I thought they appropriate but you disagree . Your regular republican viewers can attack my integrity but I am not allowed to respond, this won't be posted but you will read it Thanks for confining my suspicions.
Ryan Smith (Editor) February 19, 2013 at 08:03 PM
Michel, any posts that were rejected were rejected because they violated the terms of service or because they were in direct response to a deleted post and wouldn't have made sense out of context, not for the political philosophy of the poster. We're always glad to have people of different political views debate in the comments.
R++ One of the Famous Dacula Crew February 19, 2013 at 08:31 PM
I must respectfully disagree about the many naysayers concerning our current president. The complaining is colorblind, because he has proven that you can foul up big time, regardless of color and be just as good at fouling it up as any while male ever was… We have arrived at parity, LORD help us all.
R++ One of the Famous Dacula Crew February 19, 2013 at 09:00 PM
The Patch and its parent Huff Post are hardly “evil” conservative enterprises … The overriding thing he has accomplished, more than any leader I can remember, is lifting the curtain concerning how our major policy changes happen these days. Our Senate and House representatives no longer even read the legislation that they claim to champion, because as we saw they “have to pass it to find out what’s in it” An immortal line to stand for the ages certainly, but it really speaks of how things are supposed to happen, since each chamber is supposed debate and vet its own legislation and then compromise in joint committee to develop a bill for signature. However, since our current President created the “non written” executive order for routine use, it ain’t just for the CIA anymore baby… (The old timey way was actually in print so action could be taken later if need be, as long as it wasn’t stored by the old Nixon Era tape deck) Regarding such things as immigration, border enforcement, or for that matter as to which law will be enforced or not and perhaps what phase of the moon could be used - so the population will know when they could be arrested for doing the illegal thing they’ve done with government acquiesce for awhile. I salute him for effectively neutering a branch of our government! (Smiles)
Mr. B February 19, 2013 at 09:46 PM
Michel, This is really funny because there have been so many complaints filed against Mr. Smith for deleting conservative viewpoints, even blocking conservative posters. And now you are complaining about him blocking your liberal viewpoints. Maybe he is trying to even things out and you were unlucky enough to be his victim.
Good Grief Y'all February 19, 2013 at 10:31 PM
Mr. Yassu, nothing on Patch interferes with my rest, though much of it is disturbing. Pres. Obama is the first black POTUS. It is just as wrong to deny that race is a factor in the discord as it is to call "race card!" when attention is brought to incidents of blatant bigotry. There are undeniably some who do claim racism by others. Personally, I think they are more accurate in that than those who deny it. Let us not pretend it doesn't exist. Your calling it your "humble opinion" is no shield against said comment being questioned. Your "humble opinion" has it that people who support and voted for President Obama do so because they worship him. It's my opinion that yours isn't so humble. It's as if you and like-minded folks believe that is the only way anyone could be for President Obama. That's absurd and insults the intent and intelligence of the majority of voters in the past election. The core of this blog and the question posed is whether Dr. Carson disrespected the President by making political comments at an event which specifically has as its mission to bring the nation closer to God. The speakers are asked to keep politics out of the speeches. It is the tradition and history of the National Prayer Breakfast to steer clear of political content. Dr. Carson disregarded the nonpartisan purpose of the event. He broke tradition. And, you were unnecessarily rough on Michel.
Michel February 19, 2013 at 11:01 PM
Well thank you for all this civility I really don't consider my self liberal I believe in fair play! I'll just leave with my last statement Mr Carson has the right to his opinion. As a US servicemember I basically gave my life so he would be allowed. However, the prayer breakfast was not the venue for it. In my opinion !
Michel February 19, 2013 at 11:14 PM
One more thing why is Tammy osier allowed to talk about her surgical nurse employer. And I cant talk about my surgical nurse sister who worked directly with Dr Carson Ummm
Mr. B February 19, 2013 at 11:19 PM
It's difficult to keep politics out of the National Prayer Breakfast (actually a number of meetings held at various times and venues) when the invited guests and speakers are Congress, the president, political leaders from throughout the world, even outspoken citizens like Bono. Political speeches have been the norm for many years all the way back to Viet Nam times. Rev. Jim Wallis, founder and president of the Christian social change group Sojourners and a regular attendee of the National Prayer Breakfast, said of the event "it's sort of a time to — where people want to acknowledge the importance of prayer and faith. And that can be kind of a civil religion, civic faith kind of common denominator thing. Or it can be much too sectarian where some people feel left out of it. I remember Senator Mark Hatfield spoke years ago when I was in seminary and he called the war in Vietnam a national sin and shame in front of Richard Nixon and Henry Kissinger. I saw their faces and they weren't happy with that. So when it can raise up issues that we ought to be accountable to, whether we are religious or not, I think that's when it's probably at its best." It has become so political that Citizens for Responsibility and Ethics in Washington asked President Barack Obama and Congressional leaders to refrain from attending the National Prayer Breakfast.
Good Grief Y'all February 19, 2013 at 11:45 PM
Scooter pootin' around the fact that this event is not a political one. It would be impossible to have any event in DC without political figures in attendance. The guest speaker is supposed to honor the tradition of keeping his/her speech clean of politics. There would be no controversy over this mess if it were the norm for the invited speaker to deliver a poltiical address. I think Dr. Carson making political comments detracted from his message. He was posturing for his own benefit. If the President had not attended he would be lampooned on Patch for his absence. "Organizers for this event tell speakers ahead of time to steer clear of politics, but Carson apparently "went rogue" on them. I'm told organizers were astonished and disapproving of the critical parts of Carson's keynote address. The breakfast is supposed to bring together people from different political viewpoints and cultures. It is supposed to bridge divides, not widen them." Read more: http://www.foxnews.com/opinion/2013/02/12/dr-ben-carson-should-apologize-to-president-obama/#ixzz2LOLvFagA Worth repeating from David Brown's previous post.
Ryan Smith (Editor) February 20, 2013 at 12:39 AM
Tammy, I'm not sure why the delete isn't showing up, but I'll delete them for you if you'd like. Just let me know!
Mr. B February 20, 2013 at 12:48 AM
I couldn't find any requirements or written requests to use as guidelines for the speech at this event. What I was pointing out was that the speeches have been very political in nature as far back as 1973.
Tammy Osier February 20, 2013 at 12:59 AM
Let me try this again- I can't type on my phone - lol. I used to be the nanny of a surgical nurse. She was one of five such nurses in the whole south east, they did open heart surgery. She told me that most of them are like that in surgery (demanding, superior-like attitude) mostly because what they do can mean life or death. Luckily, she understood that, but did say that surgeons are the most difficult people on earth to deal with. Kind of like the military where you have to learn to react quickly to a command or someone could lose their life. And on the other note - Michel, I have had things deleted before. Sometimes we get so caught up in this that we dont see a bigger picture. I made a comment a while back, trying to be helpful, but it was sensitive situation involving real families and I realized my opinion was not helpful so wanted to delete it but couldn't because it stayed pending for a day or two. Finally, it seems that they (Patch) deemed it not appropriate for that post. So they deleted it. It is what it is and it IS their online paper. :) It's best just to have fun debating but remember this is not life altering - it should be fun and informative.
Thomas Yassu February 20, 2013 at 03:12 AM
Well said, Mr. B. It would appear that this breakfast has a long history and tradition of speakers doing exactly what Dr Carson did. Kinda takes the thunder out of the sails on that argument. GGY, I never once said race isn't an issue for some. Never even implied that, so, no need to make an argument against something unsaid or implied. Another red herring. Good effort, though. And, to be honest, it doesn't really matter if you think my opinion was humble or not. Unless you have a doctorate in the discernment of opinion veracity. In that case, I guess your opinion of my opinion is more relevant to my opinion than my own opinion. ;) Reality check, it's not, and it doesn't matter, so maybe drop the side bar to the side bar to the side bar of this thread?
Thomas Yassu February 20, 2013 at 03:28 AM
The book of John, Chapter 5, is the story of Jesus healing a crippled man near the pool of Bethesda. He had been crippled for 38 years when Jesus healed him. The man got up and walked only to be encountered and scolded by the Pharisees because he had the audacity to pick up his mat and walk on the Sabbath. It is interesting how they completely ignored the miracle of his healing and rather focused on what they perceived to be inappropriate because of the timing of the event. In vs 16 it says, "So, because Jesus was doing these things on the Sabbath, the Jews persecuted him." Hmmm... makes you think.
Tammy Osier February 20, 2013 at 04:29 AM
Thomas Y., Someone said that if he is a man of God then he should spend time praying for him and i said, "If he spends time praying for him then he is obligated to speak a message to him if he is led. I believe he was led in this instance." that's akin to what you said. I'd be careful when criticizing the man when he may have been speaking a message to one in a powerful place. The bible is full of instances where God did that very thing- and it always seems to be to leaders. We have to keep our leaders accountable and there are many instances where he (obama) has bucked accountability. God is love, but sometimes we focus on that to the exclusion of His warning and rebukes us if necessary (for the purpose of redemption). According to the bible, if we won't listen to and obey Him in private, the He will rebuke us publically (also biblical). That may be what has happened here. When King David committed adultry a prophet was sent to call him out. No one is above being reproached if they need it. Ben Carson is being considered a lightening rod; Got to be a reason for that. He speaks what many are thinking and wish they had the platfom to speak out. He did. Like I said before Even if Ben Carson turned out to be the devil himself, his message still resonates with those who see debt rising, people out of work, freedoms being trampled on, innocent blood being shed etc... as being ungodly and immoral. People are tired of the media covering up for him.
Thomas Yassu February 20, 2013 at 04:36 AM
Well said, Tammy.
Good Grief Y'all February 20, 2013 at 11:58 AM
Mr. Y. My opinion of your opinion matters every bit as much as your opinion of my opinion. This entire thread needs to drop. Everything relevant to the topic has been said several times by both sides.
David Brown February 20, 2013 at 12:21 PM
"Someone said that if he is a man of God then he should spend time praying for him." For the record, I was that "someone", who stands by what I said. Tammy enjoys speaking at people, instead of to them.:) By the way folks, how much time have you spent this week praying for President Obama? Now, how much time have you spent this week criticizing President Obama?
Tammy Osier February 20, 2013 at 05:49 PM
No david, just too lazy to scroll back lol
Tammy Osier March 16, 2013 at 10:56 PM
Ben carson recently retired for medicine and I think we'll be hearing more from him in coming days. Something that Carson recently said...Carson said people often dismiss black Republicans, like himself even though President Barack Obama and his allies are “trying to destroy the country.” Carson said if someone wanted to ruin the United States, they “would create division among the people, encourage a culture of ridicule for basic morality and the principles that made and sustained the country, undermine the financial stability of the nation, and weaken and destroy the military. It appears coincidentally that those are the very things that are happening right now."
David Brown March 17, 2013 at 01:03 AM
Actually, Dr. Carson announced he would be retiring in 106 days. He is not one of my favorite Black Americans. I prefer him as a neurosurgeon, rather than a political figure.
Mr. B March 17, 2013 at 02:52 AM
15 hours/7 minutes.
Mr. B March 17, 2013 at 02:56 AM
Dr. Carson doesn't subscribe to the victim mentality. He doesn't follow your train of thinking. So, its easy to understand why he is not a favorite. That's really too bad for you because you seem like a genuinely nice guy otherwise.
Tammy Osier March 17, 2013 at 02:05 PM
Actually Mr. B., these men (Herman cain included) are what the American dream is about. Imagine if they are given a chance to prove themselves. Although, to be fair, I don't know enough about Dr. Carson's knowlege in economics. Cain ran a huge business and rescued failing businesses with good economic principles. But I do like his go get it attitude. I guarantee if you get the economy going to where a person could work a dignified job and make money for his family, he'd pick that in a heartbeat. It's about opportunity and hard work. When people are blessed like that, they give to charities and your poor people are taken care of. The government takes up the slack from there. That's where we have erred. The government is in the wrong role. I stand by the analogy that Dr. Thomas Sowell of not exalting a man just because he's a first. Obama broke a barrier, and that's great, but hopefully now we can get men in there who are known by what they do and by the courage of their convictions, not by who they are or by their race. We need what's good for this country and being in debt to our eyeballs is not it.
Tammy Osier March 17, 2013 at 02:40 PM
Mr. B., "15 hours / 7 minutes?" I think I know, b ut just wondering. :)
Mr. B March 17, 2013 at 03:02 PM
David Brown asked how much time I spent praying for Obama this week and how much time I spent criticizing him. I know, it should be reversed but I'm studying with my prayer group twice a day during Lent so I have more prayer time. And I have a very busy work schedule (partial retirement is a myth) and don't have as much time to criticize.
Mr. B March 17, 2013 at 03:04 PM
God Save America.

Boards

More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something